Monthly Archives: September 2012

Open Letter to Rona Ambrose on Her Vote for Motion 312

September 28, 2012

The Honourable Rona Ambrose
Minister Responsible for the Status of Women

Dear Ms. Ambrose,

Re: Vote on Motion 312

I am writing you on behalf of the Canadian Federation of University Women’s (CFUW) 9,000 members to express our utter disappointment in the way you voted on Motion 312.

We were shocked that, as the Minister responsible for the Status of Women, you would vote in favour of a motion that was clearly initiated to reopen the debate on the legality of abortion and limit women’s reproductive rights. Doing so completely contradicts your responsibilities as Minister, since reproductive rights are intimately connected to women’s equality. Any attack on a woman’s right to choose an abortion is an attack on women’s equality.

CFUW’s understanding was that the All Party Women’s Caucus stood unanimously against this motion, as was announced on June 20th. We hope that you can explain why you took this deeply disappointing decision contrary to the wishes of the All Party Women’s Caucus and the Prime Minister?

We sincerely hope that you will take the time to reflect on the implications of your decision given your role as the Minister responsible for the Status of Women.

CFUW is a non-partisan, voluntary, self-funded organization of close to 9,000 women university graduates, students and Associate Members in 110 Clubs across Canada that works to improve the status of women and human rights, education, social justice, and peace. CFUW holds special consultative status with the United Nations (ECOSOC) and belongs to the Education committee of the Canadian Sub-Commission to UNESCO. CFUW is the largest of the 61 affiliates of the International Federation of University Women (IFUW).


Susan Murphy, CFUW National President

The Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada
Ms. Niki Ashton, NDP Status of Women Critic
Ms. Françoise Boivin
Hon. Judy Sgro, Liberal Status of Women Critic
Hon. Carolyn Bennett
Ms. Elizabeth May, Leader of the Green Party
Ms. Maria Mourani, Bloc Québécois